Space Propulsion & Advanced Concepts Engineering Laboratory

William E. Boeing Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics

013 Aerospace and Energetics Research Building

University of Washington

Seattle, WA 98195


Prof. Little has been selected for an AFOSR Young Investigator Program (YIP) award to develop methods to rapidly optimize electric thrusters using new breakthroughs in data science.


Prof. Little Awarded YIP by AFOSR

Our paper titled "Electron Demagnetization in Magnetically Expanding Plasmas" has been published in the journal Physical Review Letters. Read more on our publications page.


New Journal Paper on Magnetic Nozzle Plasma Flows

The SPACE Lab presented four papers this week at the 36th International Electric Propulsion Conference in Vienna, Austria. Read more on our publications page.


SPACE Lab at the 2019 IEPC in Vienna

Congratulations to Diego for successfully defending his Master's thesis titled, "Characterization of an Exploding Micron-wire Pulsed Plasma Thruster." Best of luck in your future endeavors!


Diego Mejia Montano Defends MS Thesis 

Congratulations to Nadiah for successfully defending her Master's thesis titled, "Breathing Mode Effects on Hall Thruster Plasma Parameters and Power Loss." Best of luck at Aerojet Rocketdyne!


Nadiah Jenkins Defends MS Thesis

The SPACE Lab has been selected for a NASA Dual Use Technology Development award to work with MSFC to develop "A High Repetition-Rate, Scalable, Pulsed PPU for Electric Propulsion Applications."


SPACE Lab Selected for NASA Grant 

Charlie has co-founded the A&A CubeSat team with the goal of launching a new CubeSat every two years. Sponsors include the A&A Department, College of Engineering, and Aerojet Rocketdyne Foundation.


Charles Kelly Helps Launch A&A CubeSat Team 

Anna and Nadiah have been recognized for their outstanding contributions to the UW Women in Aerospace (WoA) club. 


SPACE Lab Members Recognized for STEM Outreach

Charlie has been selected for the prestigious NASA Space Technology Research Fellowship for research on "Revolutionizing Orbit Insertion with Magnetoshell Aerocapture."


Charles Kelly Awarded NASA Fellowship

Curtis has been selected for a summer internship at NASA George C. Marshall Spaceflight Center. He will be working with Dr. Kurt Polzin in the Propulsion Research and Development Laboratory.


Curtis Promislow Selected for NASA Internship

Charlie co-authored winning paper for the "Future of Electric Propulsion: Young Visionary Paper Competition" at the 2017 International Electric Propulsion Conference.


Charles Kelly Wins IEPC Paper Competition

Anna has been selected for the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.


Anna Sheppard Awarded NSF Fellowship